Lesson learned

Today was my last long run before next Sunday’s 5k race. I ran 4.25 miles. I sat around all day waiting for the heat to break(the high today was 92 degrees!). I eventually went out at around 7:30, and the temperature was around 84 degrees. It was not terribly humid so I was able to get through the run without any breaks(which is the main goal of my long Sunday runs).The most important thing I learned was this: when the temperature rises, SLOW DOWN! I finally realized that I needed to slow down considerably at the start of mile 2. I’m assuming the race, which will be at 8:40 am, will be run in much milder weather, so hopefully I can be a little more aggressive. I’ll post a full report next week(I promise!)

Yesterday, I had a voice lesson for the first time in several weeks(Remember that other part of the title?). It went fairly well, but I have some technical issues that need to be resolved before I start another round of auditions this fall. I don’t want to bore everyone with the details, but I will say this: My right arm will be a little sore by the time my next lesson rolls around. Confused? You’re not alone.

To all of the Dads out there(including me, of course) Happy Father’s Day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

