My first Race!

This is the first of what I hope will be many race reports.I ran the Fairfield 5k(my first race) on Sunday 6/27, in Fairfield, CT. The 1/2 Marathon started at 8:30 am, and the 5k was scheduled to start 10 minutes later. There were almost 3000 runners in the half, and 749 in the 5k, so we had to wait a little while to line up.  I was hoping to finish in under 28 minutes, but I lined up so far back, that I spent nearly .75 miles zig-zagging around large groups of runners. After 1 mile, I felt like I had a little more room to operate( it was still a little crowded, but much better than early on) and I was able to pick up my pace a little bit, with only a few blockages. The other thing that wasn’t helping was the fact that the roads were still open to traffic in the opposite direction, so wide passes were not an option. By the time I reached the final 1.1 miles, the crowd had thinned even more, and I still felt fresh so I picked up the pace a little more. My final time was 29:04(chip time).
My splits looked like this:
Mile 1, 9:55
Mile 1-2, 9:30
Mile 2-3.1, 9:39
These are only approximate. I’m using Cardiotrainer on my Droid, and it dosen’t give true splits, only a graph
(I REALLY want to get a Garmin!)

Overall, it was a wonderful experience, and I’m really looking forward to my next race in August. I have a better idea of how to run a 5k now, and I think I may have been too cautious, even after I managed to work my way past all of the traffic.

Now, here are the  pictures:

It wasn’t pretty, but it’s done, and I had a lot of fun!

This is a slightly more embarrassing photo. I had no idea that I moved liked that. Wow.

My 1st race shirt!

My race bib and D-tag. I am a dork, and I’m planning to save every single one!

This entry was posted in Race Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

