Putnam County Fall Classic 5k

This Morning I ran the Putnam County Fall Classic 5k in Brewster, NY. This was my fifth 5k, and my 3rd in the last 6 weeks. It was a small field(97 finishers), so I didn’t have to worry about congestion at the start. The temperature at the start was 47 degrees, with a light breeze. When the race started I found myself going uphill almost immediately. My training run has some small hills, but nothing like this course. After about .5 miles I finally reached the top of the hill and was able to make up some time in a nice downhill section. I was feeling pretty good until I realized that the base of that hill was the turnaround point. Yikes. The next mile was all uphill. I knew I would need to push myself on these hills if I wanted a PR, so I sucked it up. As I was coming to the finish, I realized a PR was in the bag, and I was looking forward to the finish when I heard the cheers. I then heard footsteps, and realized that the cheering probably wasn’t for me. I wasn’t going to let someone sneak by me at the finish, so I kicked with whatever I had left and I beat the guy by less than a step! My final time was
24:59(a new pr)
My splits were:
Mile 1  8:07
Mile 2  7:58
Mile 3  8:07
final .13 :45

I also ended getting 2nd place in my AG(M30-39), which was a complete shock! The guy that almost caught me at the line was 3rd. My next race is in 5 weeks, on a flat course, so I’m hoping for another PR. Thanks for reading my RR, I hope you like the pics.


My first AG award(probably the last one I’ll get for a while)


LS cotton race shirt. I actually regretted not throwing this one on about 1 mile into the race. I was a little cold.


My medal. My wife thought this was pretty cool. I like it , too

This entry was posted in Race Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

