St. Patrick’s Day 10k

I ran the St. Patrick’s Day 10k in Yorktown Heights, NY this morning. This was my second 10k and I was shooting for a sub 47 finish. The weather was nice, with temperatures in the low 40s. There was an occasional strong gust of wind, but it wasn’t as much of an issue as my previous race. I probably started a little bit too fast, but I was able to hang on fairly well for most of the race. It was a double loop course, with a few hills. The biggest climb was just after miles 1 and 4, and there was another smaller climb at around miles 2.4 and 5.4. I had to try to ignore my Garmin on those hills and just focus on my form, otherwise I would have pushed WAY too hard and bonked. I did try to push a little harder on the last hill, because I really wanted to pass the person a few yards ahead of me. I caught her on that hill and then I pulled away over the final(PAINFUL!) .5 miles. My final time was 46:38, a new PR by 2:22. My splits were:
7:11, 7:30, 7:43, 7:28, 7:35, 7:47, final.21 in 1:20

There was a nice post race spread with bagels, bananas, apple juice, water, and FREE BEER(I had a delicious Espresso Stout)! This was the first race I’ve done that actually offered beer at the finish. Very cool. I also bumped into someone from my Alma mater, Illinois Wesleyan University. She noticed me because I was wearing an IWU shirt(our colors are green and white, so it seemed appropriate for the occasion). Random, but very cool. She actually won her AG, too! A strong showing for the Titans today in the 10k! Thanks for reading my RR! Have a wonderful day!

This entry was posted in Race Reports and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

