13.1 NY, my first half marathon

This is going up a little late(the race was 5 days ago), but I’ve felt pretty crappy for most of this week, dealing with a fever and some nasty chest congestion. Looking back, I probably should have sat this one out, but what’s done is done. So, after about two hours of sleep in the hotel the night before(thanks to my sick and fussy 2 year old daughter) I woke up and started to get ready. At this point, I could already tell that my chest congestion(first noticed the day before) was getting WORSE. But this was my first half! I couldn’t just sit it out, right? Well, I should have, but I didn’t. The race started out ok. Except I was running WAY too fast. My first mile was 7:40, which is just a little slower than my 10k pace. Sustaining that pace  for a half marathon would have been highly unlikely, even if I were completely healthy. But I foolishly kept going. My first 5 miles were all at 7:52 or lower. Then it gets interesting. I tried to grab a drink at mile 6, and fail, spilling it all over my legs(mile split, 8:08). I decided I was going to take my GU and grab a drink at the next water station, which I assumed would be at mile 7. Nope. That definitely threw me off(mile split,8:17). By the time I took my GU and had some water(which is what I really needed at that point), the damage had been done. In addition to being sick, I was getting dehydrated, too. I think I’ll have to work on that for the next half. My goal for the race quickly went from sub 1:43 to sub 1:45, to sub 1:50. The mile splits continued to climb(miles 12 and 13 were 9:04 and 9:02), and I continued to watch as a parade of runners passed me by. I tried to muster whatever I had left for a final push, but I just didn’t have it. My final time was 1:49:23, well short of my expectations, but now I have a time to beat in my next half(June 26th).

Now for some pics

still feeling strong at this point

This was after gagging and wheezing for the final 75 yards. I was miserable!

This entry was posted in Race Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 13.1 NY, my first half marathon

  1. Zack Lynch says:

    Hey Alf,

    I’m the founder of HealthRally, a new software company focused on health motivation. I found you via your tweets, so I’m assuming you are health-oriented, tech savvy and like to try new things. Especially given your St. Patrick’s day race.

    We are looking for people to try HealthRally and give us feedback before we bring it to the public. HealthRally is a private social network where you choose a health goal, pick a reward that could motivate you, and then invite your close friends and family to cheer you on and motivate you to succeed with pledges toward your reward.

    It’s a new approach, and we are seeing our first group of users achieve their goals and have a bunch of fun in the process.

    We’d love for you to give it a go! Can I send you a link to sign in and try it? Just send me a note at zack@healthrally.com.

    Thanks!

    Zack

  2. Gina says:

    Hey Alfred, I was just looking through your blog and it looks like you lost a lot of weight between September and now! Also, glad you joined DailyMile on Nov 16th. Hope to meet you at a race some day!

    • alf2617 says:

      Thanks Gina! I actually joined DM long before then, but I forgot about it, and didn’t start posting until last November. I’m really glad I did! It would be awesome to see you at a race someday!

Leave a Reply

