Run for the Rescue 5k

I ran the Run for the Rescue 5k in Middlebury, CT on Saturday 4/30. I was hoping to finish close to 22:15, but after seeing the course map, I knew shooting for sub 23 would be more realistic. The last mile was almost all uphill! This was a small local race, well under 150 people, and I found myself in a very unfamiliar place at the start, with only a handful of runners ahead of me. With the exception of one woman(who ended up winning the race) I stayed in contact with all of them for most of the race(I even managed to pass a few of them). The first mile was downhill. Very downhill. This was an out and back course, so I knew the last mile was going to suck, but I still wasn’t prepared for it. The second mile, which I felt was my strongest mile, had some slight rolling hills, but was fairly level. But the third mile just crushed me. By the time I got there, I knew there were only three runners ahead of me, and one was within striking distance. I foolishly passed him at the start of the uphill and then I began to fade, badly. By the time I made it to the crest of the hill, I was toast. The other runner overtook me for third, and 22:15 was long gone. I crossed the finish in 23:04(a new PR), in 4th place. The bright spot was that I still won my AG(20-39 in this race)! My splits were: 7:01, 7:04, 8:00(YIKES!), and the final .14 in 57 seconds(I didn’t have much kick left).I definitely think I’ll run this one again next year. Revenge will be mine! Who knows, maybe by then I’ll be shooting for sub 21, or faster. Have a great day, everyone! I hope you like the pics!

Waiting for the start...

And we're off! The woman on the left side of the shot(white tank top) was the eventual winner of the race. I lost contact with her shortly after the turnaround point.She beat me by 2 minutes, 43 seconds!


At the finish.

Getting my AG award!


My first AG win. Still bummed about my time, but this will make me feel a little better!

I had a nice cheering section for the race, too! Jenna did not want to let go of my AG award!

This entry was posted in Race Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

