Boston Buildup 10k and Marathon News!

Ok, so this is really late, but I ran the Boston Buildup 10k on 1/8. This was my second consecutive year doing it, and I was fairly happy with the result. I was hoping for a sub 42 finish, but the hills in the 2nd half of the race got the better of me, and I finished in 43:01(Garmin time was 42:56. I knew I should have started closer to the line). It was 44 degrees at the start, and I felt pretty good. I wanted to get off to a fast start, because I knew the first 2+ miles were really downhill, and the last 2.5 miles were mostly uphill. I’m guessing the hills probably cost me around 30 seconds, but that still would have been well short of my goal of sub 42. Slits were 6:35, 6:24, 6:51, 7:01, 7:11,7:27, and the final .25 in 1:26. Mile 2 looks a little too fast, but there was an elevation drop of around 90 feet in that mile(and an elevation gain of over 100 feet from mile 5 to 5.75). I might run another 10k in March(on a course that’s not as hilly), so hopefully I can get sub 42 then. And I got a chance to say hello to fellow DM’er Shira before the race(we actually just became friends on DM the day before!).

In other news, I’m also training for my first marathon! I’m running the New Jersey marathon on May 6th in Long Branch, NJ. I’m actually already in week 3 of my training. I’m using the Pfitzinger 18/55 plan. My preliminary goal(besides finishing) is 3:20, which might be a bit too ambitious, but I’ll stick with it for now.  Have a great day, everyone! Here are a couple of pics from the race.

Eyeing the clock, try to come in under 43. I'll get it next time.

I really thought I had it at this point.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

