Connecticut Irish Festival 5k

I ran the Connecticut Irish Festival 5k in North Haven, CT on Saturday 6/23.  I knew from the start this wasn’t going to be a PR race, with temps in the low 80s. I haven’t run in anything like that since last August.  I came through the first mile in 6:24, but after a 6:36 2nd mile, and a 6:33 3rd mile, I knew I would be well off my best.  I was in no mood to really kick it in at the end, and I finished the last .13 miles in about 46 seconds. My official time was 20:22(20:19 on my Garmin). There were a couple of bright spots, though. My 5 year old son ran his first race, a 600m fun run, and he had a blast. I also managed to keep my 5k AG award streak going.  I won the M30-39 age group, my 3rd AG win my last 4 5k races(I finished 3rdin the other one, which was actually where I set my current PR of 19:41). I didn’t feel great today, but I’ll take it! I got a nice trophy, and a $25 gift card to The Sports Center of Connecticut in Shelton.  We actually used it today. I wanted to play mini-golf, but we ended up doing fun bowling, which was pretty cool , too. Have a great day, everyone!

Alex and Jenna before the Kids race. Jenna decided not to run, though

Alex is ready to start!

Look at that finishing kick!

A congratulatory hug from Jenna!

The start of my 5k. I swear I’m in this pic!

Nearing the finish

I won my AG again. I’ve won my AG 3 times in 5ks, and placed in 3 others. Someday, I want to get an award in a longer race!

a close up of the trophy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

