Hello again.

It’s been a REALLY long time since I posted anything on this blog, so here’s what I’ve been up to. I was running(a lot), getting ready for the NJ marathon and then this happened(WARNING:GROSS ANKLE SCAR PICS COMING UP!!!):

 

(you’ve been warned)

 

 

IMG_20130531_142540_025IMG_20130531_142528_815

Torn posterior tibial tendon. Ouch. I noticed the problem in late January, but since I’m an idiot, I kept running. Finally after the 13.1 NY half on March 23rd(finished just over 1:45, 8 minutes slower than my PR), I knew I need to see a doctor. After the appointment, an x-ray, and an MRI I opted for surgery. I think is is my best shot at a full recovery. I had the surgery on May 17th, and I had my cast removed on June 27th. I’ll be in a walking boot for another month or so, but it sucks way less than that cast!

No more cast!

No more cast!

Physical therapy starts on Monday. I’m probably more terrified for this than I was for the actual surgery. I know it’s going to take some serious work, but I am going to run again. Hopefully marathons, but we’ll have to see. I deferred my entry for NJ to next May, but since my recovery timetable is 6-12 months, that could be too optimistic. I might shoot for the half marathon instead. Have an awesome weekend, everyone!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

