What I’ve been up to

It’s been a while since I posted a blog, so I though I would let everyone know how I’m doing. I’ve been walking completely unassisted for the last 4 weeks(no walking boot or crutches), and I only have 3 physical therapy sessions left. After that, I might be shifting to a home therapy regimen. I think running is still a long way off at this point, but it’s starting to seem like a possibility again. Alex has actually done three races during my recovery(the most recent being last Saturday), and Jenna actually did one, too!

Alex and Jenna at the Georgetown Days Kids K

Alex and Jenna at the Georgetown Days Kids K

IMG_20130831_102829_647

Alex at the Newtown Road Race kids run. He was tired at the end(it was humid!), but he had a lot of fun.

In addition to watching my kids participate in my favorite hobby(can you tell I’m a little jealous?), I’ve also kept myself busy with one of my other hobbies. Namely this one:

2013-02-03_15-26-47_232

Yep. That’s a beer. More importantly, THAT is a beer brewed by me! My brother gave me a Mr. Beer kit for Christmas, and that was the result. 2.13 gallons of West Coast Pale Ale. And I’ve brewed 4 more batches since then, most recently the Bohemian Bronze, which I’m really looking forward to. I didn’t think I would get into brewing as much as I have, but it’s a lot of fun. My Father’s Day gift was a new 5 gallon equipment kit from Midwest Supplies, and I’m going to brew my first 5 gallon batch tomorrow. I would have done it sooner, but I had to wait to regain some strength in my ankle(a fermenter full of beer is NOT light!). I’m going to brew their Liberty Cream Ale, and I’ll post pics when I’m done brewing, and I’ll try to post a review in a couple of months after I’ve tasted the beer. Have a great day, everyone! I’ll leave you with a few more pics!

My fermentation chiller. I can regulate the temperature of the fermenting beer very well with this. I actually built this about one week before my surgery

My fermentation chiller. I can regulate the temperature of the fermenting beer very well with this. I actually built this about one week before my surgery

An inside view of the chiller. The fan in the upper right corner circulates cool air through the chamber. The cooling source is actually two frozen water bottles(usually 1/2  gallon or 1 gallon containers)

An inside view of the chiller. The fan in the upper right corner circulates cool air through the chamber. The cooling source is actually two frozen water bottles(usually 1/2 gallon or 1 gallon containers)

After my third batch, I started using glass bottles(in addition to the PET bottles that came with my Mr Beer kit). I like the glass bottles, but I might start using larger 22oz bottles, since bottling 50+ 12oz bottles would take hours!

After my third batch, I started using glass bottles(in addition to the PET bottles that came with my Mr Beer kit). I like the glass bottles, but I might start using larger 22oz bottles, since bottling 50+ 12oz bottles would take hours!

My anniversary present. This stainless steel stock ot holds close to 9 gallons, more than enough to do a full volume boil(~6.25 gallons)

My anniversary present. This stainless steel stock ot holds close to 9 gallons, more than enough to do a full volume boil(~6.25 gallons)

And finally, my wort chiller. I built this last weekend. It was really easy(I found tons of helpful youtube videos), and it will save a lot of time over trying to do an ice bath to cool the wort! I've leak tested it twice already. I can't wait until brew day!

And finally, my wort chiller. I built this last weekend. It was really easy(I found tons of helpful youtube videos), and it will save a lot of time over trying to do an ice bath to cool the wort! I’ve leak tested it twice already. I can’t wait until brew day!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

