Injury update and another brew day(make that two!)

I ran on 10/17. It was only .5 miles, but it was my first run post surgery! I’ve managed to build up to 1.25 miles after a couple of weeks, but my knee and ankle still need to get stronger before I can add on any substantial distance. I’m hoping to get in a short race(run at an easy pace) by the end of the year, or early in 2014.

As for my brewing, I’ve actually brewed a couple of times recently. I brewed a 5 gallon batch of Caribou Slobber on 10/18. I definitely feel like I’ve got my brew day timing down a little better. I bought a submersible pump, and used it to circulate ice cold water through my wort chiller. This worked really well. I used the faucet to get the temp down to 100° F, and then I hooked up the pump, and circulated ice water to get down to pitching temp. I was able to get the wort down to 66°F in less time than it took me to get to 75°F last time.

I also made a yeast starter this time. I used Wyeast 1332(Northwest Ale strain), the recommended liquid yeast strain for the beer. I made a stir plate using a usb-powered computer fan, a magnet harvested from an old hard drive, and a plastic container purchased on Amazon. I prepared the starter on Tuesday, let it ferment until Thursday morning, and then cold crashed it in the fridge to drop the yeast out of suspension. It worked beautifully.  It’s been fermenting away for just over two weeks. I transferred to secondary on Halloween(probably unnecessary), and I’m planning to bottle next weekend(I might hold off until Veterans Day).

I also brewed a Mr. Beer batch yesterday(11/2) because it was National Learn to home brew day. I brew their Columbus’ Cascading Ale, which is a can of Bewitched Amber Ale, a smooth LME softpack, and a 1/2 ounce each of Columbus and Cascade hops. I brewed that one yesterday, and it already has a nice head of krausen on it, and it smells great.

With these two batches, I’ll have plenty of beer to last the rest of the year(and well into 2014, hopefully). Have an awesome day, everyone!

Sanitizing everything before preparing my starter

Sanitizing everything before preparing my starter

My starter spinning away on my stir plate. I still can't believe how easy it was to make on of these!

My starter spinning away on the stir plate. I still can’t believe how easy it was to make on of these!

I love the way the wort smells during the boil. Especially after I add in the hops!

I love the way the wort smells during the boil. Especially after I add in the hops!

I filled this cooler with ice water and used a pump to circulate that water through my wort chiller. It worked like a charm!

I filled this cooler with ice water and used a pump to circulate that water through my wort chiller. It worked like a charm!

I used a blow-off hose for the first few days. It turns out I didn't need it, but better safe than sorry!

I used a blow-off hose for the first few days. It turns out I didn’t need it, but better safe than sorry!

This entry was posted in Homebrewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

