Happy “Brew” Year(and a running update, too)

Happy New Year, everyone! I decided to kick the year off with a brew day. Last year, I brewed my first batch of beer on New Year’s Day 2013(a Mr. Beer West Coast Pale Ale). This year, I brewed a recipe of my own design(using Beersmith), a “Leftover” Pale Ale, using grains and hops I had on hand. Here are the ingredients(for a 2.5 gallon batch):

4.0 oz Caramel Malt – 80L 6-Row (Briess) (80.0 SRM) Grain 1 8.3 %
4.0 oz Carapils (Briess) (1.5 SRM) Grain 2 8.3 %
10.0 oz DME Golden Light (Briess) (4.0 SRM) Dry Extract 3 20.8 %
0.38 oz Cascade [7.00 %] – Boil 60.0 min Hop 4 23.3 IBUs
1 lbs 14.0 oz DME Golden Light (Briess) [Boil for 15 min](4.0 SRM) Dry Extract 5 62.5 %
0.20 oz Willamette [5.00 %] – Boil 15.0 min Hop 6 4.4 IBUs
0.30 oz Citra [14.00 %] – Boil 10.0 min Hop 7 13.5 IBUs
0.20 oz Citra [14.00 %] – Boil 2.0 min Hop 8 2.1 IBUs
0.6 pkg Safale American (DCL/Fermentis #US-05) [50.28 ml] Yeast 9
0.50 oz Citra [14.00 %] – Dry Hop 14.0 Days Hop 10 0.0 IBUs
0.20 oz Liberty [4.30 %] – Dry Hop 14.0 Days Hop 11 0.0 IBUs

I did have to order the Citra hops, yeast, and a little more DME, but I had everything else on hand. The brew day went very smoothly. I did the late extract addition to keep the beer from getting too dark, and to aid with hop utilization. And It’s so much easier cooling down 2.5 gallons of wort! I think I went from boiling to around 64° in 17 minutes! It’s fermenting at 65° right now, and I’ll add the dry hops once primary fermentation is done(and maybe drop the temp another 2-3 degrees). This should be a tasty beer!

I'm really looking forward to this beer. It smelled amazing, especially after I tossed in the citra hops!

I’m really looking forward to this beer. It smelled amazing, especially after I tossed in the citra hops!

As for running, things are getting better. I ran 3.25 miles this morning, which would have been unthinkable a month ago. If I continue to progress over the next few weeks, I’ll probably target a race next month. I won’t be looking for a PR(or anything close), but I think it could be good to help me reset my training paces post injury. Have a wonderful day, everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

